

Mt Holly, NJ

Chapter 6

Chartered	May 1, 1922 Charter No 1166	Meets : Wednesdays at 12:15 pm at
Sponsored By	Camden	Mount Holly Moose Lodge Woodlane Rd., Mt. Holly, NJ 08060
Clubs Sponsored	Moorestown Pemberton	(609) 267-9845

Charter Members

OFFICE	NAME OF MEMBER
President	W. Roland Warrick James H. Anderson Edward F. Bunce Raymond S. Clarke Charles Coles Edward A. Creedon Arthur D. Cross Walter 1. Dill Alexander Dubell Francis O. Durand Allen M. Fenimore Samuel C. Fenimore Harry Hawkins, Jr. William A. Jones Herbert S. Killie Charles LaTour Harold E. Longsford Morris K. Perinchief Daniel F. Remer Mark Reynolds George F. Ried James T. Royle
	William C. Wetherill

D. Harold Wills

362

Mt Holly, NJ

official visit to their club.

Chapter 6

Mt. Holly 'Singing Rotary Club' Top Supporter of Youth

The Mount Holly Rotary Club, which, along with Salem Rotary is the sixth oldest club in District 764, both having been chartered on May 1, 1922, has built an outstanding long-running record of service to its community. Much of that good record, according to Rotarians who have been around the club for many years, is attributed to consistent topnotch leadership at the presidential level.

Known widely throughout District 764 as the "Singing Rotary Club," Mt. Holly has compiled a somewhat remarkable



record of service to the youth of its community. For example, Mt. Holly Rotary has awarded scholarships to literally hundreds of area high school graduates for their academic achievement through the years. The club's current annual gifts and awards total a staggering \$12,000.

The club has been extremely active in its ongoing work with the Little League and Catholic League baseball and football teams, and also has been the sole supporter of summer athletic programs in baseball, soccer, softball, field hockey, street hockey, and basketball.

As if that's not enough, the Rotarians have held several recent fund-raisers to build a new street hockey rink at Mill Dam Park.

And speaking, of Mill Dam Park, Mt. Holly

Rotary has been instrumental in the community effort to build the enormous park and Monroe Street Park recreational complexes. Additionally, the club recently cleaned and refurbished the Mount Area of Mt. Holly.

There's much more the club has done in its support of youth.

Mt, Holly Rotarians gather round the piano to serenade DG 89-90 Herb Budd, Jr. at his

It has actively boosted high school sports at Rancocas Valley High School. For many years, Mt. Holly and its friendly rival Moorestown Rotary have honored schoolboy football players from the schools at a luncheon prior to their annual Thanksgiving Day football contests.

Mt. Holly has bad a deep involvement in Youth Exchange work including serving as a sending and hosting club for students from around the world. For many years, Mt. Holly engaged in a highly successful summer exchange program with the Aldridge Club of England.

Mt. Holly invited all of the 1989 graduates of Rancocas Valley High School to spend a day of "on the job training" with Rotarians. Then they held a Rotary question and answer luncheon.

"Someone once said that the things we keep for ourselves only last for today, but the things we share with others last for all eternity," says Maynard G. Shoop, Mt. Holly president for 1989-90. "It's our desire to teach 'Serve Above Self' throughout our club so that what we do might be a blessing to many in the community in the years ahead."

363

Mt Holly, NJ

Chapter 6

Presidents

1922-23	W. Roland Warrick	1956-57	Colin F. Tait
1923-24	Morris K. Perinchief	1957-58	Wayne L. Rife
1924-25	Edgar F. Bunce, PDG	1958-59	Rodman Zwirner
1925-26	Mark Reynolds	1959-60	J. Donald Schupp
1926-27	Raymond S. Clarke	1960-61	Benton E. Calden
1927-28	Samuel C. Fenimore	1961-62	Philip S. Irons, III
1928-29	William S. Fryer, Sr.	1962-63	Harry E. Wenrich
1929-30	Arthur D. Cross, Sr,	1963-64	Spencer M. Scheckter
1930-31	Daniel F. Remer	1964-65	Thomas G. Harris
1931-32	James Marshall	1965-66	Robert K. Little
1932-33	Robert C.B. Parker	1966-67	James E. Glenn
1933-34	Harold E. Longsdorf	1967-68	Daniel E. Kensler
1934-35	Herbert S. Killie	1968-69	G. Robert Van Sciver
1935-36	Charles Coles	1969-70	William J. McDonnel
1936-37	Melcour R. Lippincott	1970-71	Vernon H. Hallowell
1937-38	Eugene E. Beyer	1971-72	Richard A. Alaimo
1938-39	Joseph M. Kuder	1972-73	Frank M. Monaghan
1939-40	J. Harry Halt	1973-74	Francis E. Wills
1940-41	Waldo J. Kindig	1974-75	David T. Perinchief
1941-42	Paul A. Coffee	1975-76	Francis J. Ott
1942-43	Walter H. Tarver	1976-77	Robert C. Shinn, Jr.
1943-44	Herman W. Deacon	1977-78	George M. Van Istendal
1944-45	Phillip S. Irons, Jr.	1978-79	Edward J. Jachim
1945-46	James G. Becker	1979-80	Charles S. Miller
1946-47	Ernest L. Saul	1980-81	W. Douglass Gsell
1947-48	Louis L. Kumpf	1981-82	Donald P. Gaydos
1948-49	Harry T. Perinchief	1982-83	Robert Silcox
1949-50	Stanley K. Heilbron	1983-84	Irving W. Winner
1950-51	G. Howard Sleeper	1984-85	Mike Yurko
1951-52	Edward J. Wessel	1985-86	Frank J. Jago
1952-53	Edward J. McManimon	1986-87	Leo S. Manco
1953-54	Irving, W. Tallman	1987-88	James Kraft
1954-55	Harold T. Parker	1988-89	William J. Gordon
1955-56	Lester Lewis	1989-90	Maynard Shoop